Valuing Children Four Pillar – Book Series

Written by Natalie Caudle & illustrated by Aleisha Zappia

We are pleased to introduce the Valuing Children Four Pillar – Book Series!

Through the use of delightful Australian native animal characters; Kelvin the Kangaroo, Kooky the Kookaburra, Ellie the Echidna and Summer the Swan, each book in the series explores one of the Valuing Children Initiative’s four core pillars of Listening, Voice, Safety and Growth 

The books have been created by the Valuing Children Initiative to support children’s literacy and to provide parents and teachers with opportunities to connect and discuss important issues with children. The questions on the ‘reflection page’ can be used by adults to initiate conversations with children in relation to each book’s topic.

Prior to finalising the book series, we had a feedback session with students from St Benedict’s School who provided their insightful input to assist us in completing the books.

We hope that children and adults alike will enjoy the bonding experience of reading these books together and envisage that each book will initiate many thoughtful conversations. 

In February 2021, 4000 books will be distributed to Western Australian primary schools by one of our valued sponsors Westbooks

The books are available for sale at selected bookshops or can be purchased directly from the Valuing Children Initiative for $12 each* or $38 per set* (four books).  *Plus postage if buyer unable to collect from Perth CBD.

Please email to place an order.   

All profits will go towards The Valuing Children Initiative’s work to create a society that values all children 🧡

Thank you to our Four Pillar – Book Series Sponsors;

Centrecare, Tony Fini Foundation, Westbooks and Unleished.